• QUOTE FOR TODAY

    "God is pursuing with omnipotent passion a worldwide purpose of gathering joyful worshipers for Himself from every tribe and tongue and people and nation…Therefore let us bring our affections into line with His, and, for the sake of His name, let us renounce the quest for worldly comforts and join His global purpose."
    -- John Piper

  • Mercy House

  • YouVersion Reading Plans
  • James 2:14-17

    What good is it, my brothers, if a man claims to have faith but has no deeds? Can such faith save him? Suppose a brother or sister is without clothes and daily food. If one of you says to him, "Go, I wish you well; keep warm and well fed," but does nothing about his physical needs, what good is it?

    In the same way, faith by itself, if it is not accompanied by action, is dead.

  • Blog Stats

    • 22,567 hits

Can I Get a Witness?

What are you afraid of?  I keep asking myself that question. 

Why do I find it so difficult to tell others about Jesus?  Why does it have to be so awkward?  I’ve been thinking about it a lot lately.  I feel like God is giving me a desire to reach the lost.  In fact, I pray for that very thing, but following through on it is sometimes tough.   Here are some of my fears; I wonder if you share in them too. 

q   I don’t have all the answers.  What if I am asked a question and don’t have the right answer?  I might be embarrassed or appear to lack conviction. 

q   I won’t have the right words to express God’s love. 

q   I don’t understand other religions and would be unprepared to answer a comparison/contract questions when explaining my faith.

q   I might offend someone.

q   People who have no interest in the things of God tend to hold very tightly to their views (Agnostics, Atheists).  I could be starting an argument that could do more harm than good.

q   People have very little understanding of other religions and generally don’t differentiate between them.  For example, they look at Scientology, Islam, and Christianity and see the same thing.  I am afraid that I have been lumped into a category of religious weirdo’s and will have no credibility.

q   Televangelists and judgmental extremists have ruined it for the rest of us…goes back to credibility

q   I am worried about what people will think of me. 

I’m sure there are more “excuses.”  As I look back over the list, I realize that they are mostly about me.  “How will I look?”  “What will people think about me?”   I guess it is a faith thing.  Not trusting God to follow through on what he started in me.  I am struggling to move it from my head to my heart.    When I look at the early church as outlined in the book of Acts, I don’t see the Apostles making any excuses.  They just get out there and “make disciples of all nations.”  Why do I have to make excuses?  I suppose I need to dig into this a little deeper.  What is it going to take?  I welcome any thoughts you may have.

4 Responses

  1. I hear you. It’s not easy, and you will be tagged a fool (I know from experience). I just keep coming back to Jesus saying if He is lifted up, men will be drawn to Him. He was, of course, on the cross, but now to a world of unbelief through our words. I met a girl just the other day who has always lived in the Bible belt. She knew nothing of Jesus, never been to church, didn’t have a Bible in her house. She told my son she had known there was a God, but had no idea His name was Jesus. People need to hear – even in America (I guess I’m assuming you are in America). I pray God will bless you as you try to step out.

  2. I understand completely where you are coming from! I am having the same struggles with spreading the Word. I have been praying that God will give me the wisdom and courage. I think my problem is my low self-esteem. I just have to have faith that God will put in right words in my mouth.

  3. Dude! In my not-so-humble opinion, witnessing for Jesus is more about regular conversations, relationships, serving others, and being engaged in life than anything else. We are not selling insurance or cars, and our abilities to change the views of others with persuasive arguments is very limited. People need to be loved and understood to be willing to open up and listen. The only way to accomplish that is through serving them. Laying down your life is less about having the courage to say “Jesus” and more about having the courage to be someone’s friend. Of course, confrontational evangelism has its place, too.

  4. I hear what you are saying, namesake. I think my post needs some follow-up by me. This ties in with your recent post about inconsistency, but I pray for many of those I am rubbing shoulders with every day. My prayer is that God will convict them of their sin and steer them towards me. Many of the relationships you speak of are in place, and everyone knows where I stand as a Christ-follower. The rub comes when I clearly have opportunities to share, but hold back for some of the reasons I listed.

    I enjoy you site, by the way. Keep up the good work.

    Jeff

Leave a Reply

