• QUOTE FOR TODAY

    "God is pursuing with omnipotent passion a worldwide purpose of gathering joyful worshipers for Himself from every tribe and tongue and people and nation…Therefore let us bring our affections into line with His, and, for the sake of His name, let us renounce the quest for worldly comforts and join His global purpose."
    -- John Piper

  • Mercy House

  • YouVersion Reading Plans
  • James 2:14-17

    What good is it, my brothers, if a man claims to have faith but has no deeds? Can such faith save him? Suppose a brother or sister is without clothes and daily food. If one of you says to him, "Go, I wish you well; keep warm and well fed," but does nothing about his physical needs, what good is it?

    In the same way, faith by itself, if it is not accompanied by action, is dead.

  • Blog Stats

    • 22,567 hits

When God Cleared His Throat

It’s funny how we need to keep going back to the Source of power in our lives. You’d think we’d just stay there, wouldn’t you?  Without even realizing it I was growing complacent. I guess it was kind of sneaking up on me. Regular time alone with God every day. Church on Sunday. Prayer on Wednesday night.

Then it came, like God was sitting behind me in church last Sunday and all he had to do was ‘clear his throat’ You know, the way a dad gets his sons attention when something is awry?Right there in the middle of the message, my pastor starts talking about all the stuff that we do that is a total waste of time.  You know what I’m talking about?  Yes, distractions.  He had a few things on his list that wouldn’t necessarily be on my list, but the point is, I know there are things I do that don’t always ‘bear fruit.’  Here are a few things on my list:

Reading and forwarding totally unimportant emails

Reading articles at foxnews.com and NASCAR.com. 

Talk Radio—although there are some redeeming qualities here

Adventure Fiction novels (Clancy, Cussler, Coontz, etc) 

I have to admit, this is the second “wake up call” in the last few months.  A while back Pastor points out that “if we claim to be Christians, but we aren’t reaching out to the lost then we may not be the Christian we claim to be.” This message came before the offering. It wasn’t part of the sermon for the day. I think God just placed it on his heart. (Maybe just to get my attention, I don’t know.) No one was taking notes. No one saw it coming, but there it was. And he kept on going. “You need to be praying for your co-workers….You need to be living like Christ every minute…Invite your friends to church, if they won’t come, bring it to them. Stand in the gap for your friends, neighbors, and everyone else who is apart from God” and then the big one:

“I am praying that God will make you BOLD”

Whoa!

At home later that day, the kids were playing and I was making eggs and such (our usual routine again!) My wife sensing the ‘mood’ I was in asked what was wrong. I laid it out there for her. I explained that just as I was getting comfortable in where I was at with God goes and pushes me further. He makes me examine everything (again.) Asks me to step back and take inventory. My wife (in her wisdom) just left me to continue pondering.So, I am going to ask you a few things.   What are you doing that isn’t bearing fruit.  Don’t take this to mean you can’t have hobbies or relax now and then, but when you engage in a particular activity, is there something better you could be doing.  Combine that with this question:  What are you doing for the Kingdom?   

It’s no coincidence that these little messages within the message were designed to go together.  Maybe God has cleared his throat for you too, huh?

My prayer will be for boldness. For me, and for you too.

Blessings

One Response

  1. true Brother.

Leave a Reply

