• QUOTE FOR TODAY

    "God is pursuing with omnipotent passion a worldwide purpose of gathering joyful worshipers for Himself from every tribe and tongue and people and nation…Therefore let us bring our affections into line with His, and, for the sake of His name, let us renounce the quest for worldly comforts and join His global purpose."
    -- John Piper

  • Mercy House

  • YouVersion Reading Plans
  • James 2:14-17

    What good is it, my brothers, if a man claims to have faith but has no deeds? Can such faith save him? Suppose a brother or sister is without clothes and daily food. If one of you says to him, "Go, I wish you well; keep warm and well fed," but does nothing about his physical needs, what good is it?

    In the same way, faith by itself, if it is not accompanied by action, is dead.

  • Blog Stats

    • 22,567 hits

Some conversations shouldn’t be done via text message

The other day I exchanged a series of text messages with my wife.  Communicating with one’s spouse via text message is neither efficient nor personal, but sometimes it is necessary.   When we do actually talk on the phone, it seems to take at least 20 minutes to wrap up whatever we need to say.  Don’t get me wrong, I like talking to my wife.  But, if we had to actually talk every time something needed to be communicated (like: get milk on way home), we might talk for hours on end.  This would result in my boss firing me, which would mean I couldn’t pay the cell phone bill or buy the aforementioned milk.  But, I digress.

Somehow we ventured into a text-conversation that was far better suited to a face to face encounter.  Keep in mind that it is difficult to express emotion or light-heartedness or humor in a text message.  That series of  dots (……..) or  the 😉 just doesn’t cut it. 

Here’s how the conversation ended:  I suggested that my beautiful wife should start her workout at 4AM instead of 5AM so that when I leave a 6AM, I don’t find her atop her bike sweating profusely, stinking up the utility room.  I further suggested that if my lovely bride could be all showered and dressed and put together before I leave for my long day at the office I would have much more favorable image of her that would stay with me through the day.  This would result in more compliments from me to her, thereby building her esteem and keeping her ‘love-tank’ full.   I probably carried it too far when I mentioned that having my breakfast ready would be nice, too. 

When she didn’t reply for a long time I knew I was in trouble.    When the reply finally came it read like this:

“that’s reassuringL 

Remember, how I said earlier that you can’t really express emotion in a text message?   I was wrong.  Whoa was I wrong.  I got every drop of emotional sentiment in that reply.  My feeble, sheepish attempts to redeem myself looked like this:

Just Kidding

You know I’m not serious

Yeah, those didn’t work.  Oh, we’re fine now…..after the beating, and the flowers, and daily massages until Christmas, and the new car, and the vacation home, I finally understand what I need to do:  Cancel the text message option on my cell phone plan.

In all seriousness, during this whole event (some most of which was embellished for creative effect—I mean I can’t afford a vacation home) I did come to realize that I was taking my wife for granted. 

I have an amazing woman who married me nearly 12 years ago. 

  • She is a as beautiful today as the day I married her. 
  • Her relationship with God grows daily (even though she’ll tell you she feels kind of stagnant, spiritually speaking).
  • She has sacrificed much to stay home with our children with the hope that they become decent, responsible adults some day (hopefully they get good jobs because I am going to need some financial support after all this).
  • She works out daily. In part because she wants to feel good about herself, but in part to make sure she looks good for me. 
  • She manages our household on a shoestring budget, and knows the price of any given food or clothing item, at any given store, on any given day. 
  • People look at her and wish they could be like her in many ways. Yet, humbly, she doesn’t understand why they wish. 
  • She loves me for reasons I have yet to figure out.

 There’s a lot more on the list, but I will end with this:  Certain responsibilities necessitate that I get to church before her each Sunday.  Every time I see her come into the building an hour or so later, I remember the first time I saw her some 13 ½ years ago.  I can’t help but smile and get that little feeling in my stomach.  I don’t think I’ve told her that lately. 

In the end, I was reminded (again) that I need to tell her all of these things more.  Face to face. 

I was also reminded that I need to pray for her (and us) more.  I hope this little tale may cause you to start your own list about your spouse.  At least I hope you take an honest look at where you are at in your relationship and how you communicate with your spouse. 

God Bless 

One Response

  1. How easy it is to take our wives for granted! I have most ot the items on your list on mine (unwritten though), especially the last one. We have over 32 years together now, and I was not even home much of the time due to the carrer I had taken up before we even knew each other (Special Forces soldier). Due to that ‘dynamic’ in our lives, I am sure there are things on my list not on yours.

    Thanks for that!

Leave a Reply

