• QUOTE FOR TODAY

    "God is pursuing with omnipotent passion a worldwide purpose of gathering joyful worshipers for Himself from every tribe and tongue and people and nation…Therefore let us bring our affections into line with His, and, for the sake of His name, let us renounce the quest for worldly comforts and join His global purpose."
    -- John Piper

  • Mercy House

  • YouVersion Reading Plans
  • James 2:14-17

    What good is it, my brothers, if a man claims to have faith but has no deeds? Can such faith save him? Suppose a brother or sister is without clothes and daily food. If one of you says to him, "Go, I wish you well; keep warm and well fed," but does nothing about his physical needs, what good is it?

    In the same way, faith by itself, if it is not accompanied by action, is dead.

  • Blog Stats

    • 22,567 hits

Decisions, decisions — What is God’s Will (part II)

When we left off last time, I was at a point in my life where I knew I couldn’t keep doing what I was doing for a living. In the middle of this entire process, we sat down with Ron and explained what we were feeling.  I talked with my parents (who also live there) and remember getting choked up as I talked about not wanting to miss my kids’ growing up.  I made the decision that I was going to look for other work.   Ron (who was also dealing with the same ‘travel stuff’ that I was) decided that he was going to continue on for another year.  He started looking for another partner to help him out, and I started to look for another job.  Keep in mind that the Michigan economy was already stagnant due to a number of auto industry layoffs, and closures.  Finding a job wasn’t going to be easy.

 

The daily stress of potentially being unemployed was starting to take a toll on me.  I was frequently fighting nausea or a pit in my stomach.  I did everything that a desperate job seeker should do.  I panicked.  No, not totally, but I looked everywhere for employment.  I had some leads, and a few things looked promising, but nothing really came together.  Through all of this I was determined to stay in Michigan.  Never once, did I consider moving for a job.  Sharon came to me and suggested that I start looking for work back in Illinois.  I am sure she was hesitant to suggest it, not wanting to seem like she was pushing to move back home. 

 

Relocating again seemed impractical to me at the time.  Bigger than the impracticality of it, I think I was trying to do all of this on my own (hindsight is 20/20).  I will get more into that later.  Anyway, within days I had a job offer in Illinois.  It wasn’t enough money, but it was a start.  On a whim, I called the employer I left less than a year prior.  Two days later I was having lunch with my old manager, and I had an offer to come back in a different capacity.  The details worked out, and within two weeks we had confirmed everything and set a start date. 

I was relieved.  There seemed to be a light at the end of the tunnel. 

 

Little did I know I was entering a storm of stress and chaos. We put our house on the market (does this sound familiar?)  I barely had finished all of the projects in time.  In fact, the day before our first open house, I installed and painted the last remaining door.  Sharon was pregnant with our daughter at this time.  The insurance with my new (old) employer didn’t kick in for 90 days.  This meant we somehow needed to be in Michigan when Cassidy entered this world.  I hadn’t quite figured out how that was going to work, at the time.  Sharon’s parents graciously allowed us to live with them until our Michigan house sold and we could find a new house in Illinois.  We packed some clothes and planned to leave the last week of March, 2004.  Sharon was going to return to Michigan for her regular monthly doctor visits, and would live with my parents for the week or two prior to Cassidy’s birth.  Boy, this was coming together nicely.  Sure, the house hadn’t sold yet, but everything else was working out perfectly. 

 

It came time to get in the car for Illinois.  The bags were packed and ready to be loaded in the trunk.  Sharon was having some “issues” related to the pregnancy.  I’m not going to get into all the details, but she was right around 30 weeks at this point.  She called the doctor, and they wanted to see her– just to be safe.  We planned on leaving right after the appointment with the doctor.   The doctor did not know of our ‘travel plans.’  Sharon called from the car on the way home.  She had that ‘tone’ in her voice.  She was dilated to three centimeters.  For those of you that don’t have kids, this is a huge problem.  In effect, she was in labor about 10 weeks early. The doctor put her on bed-rest and told her not to move for the next 10 weeks or so. The goal was 36 weeks.  Sharon’s prayer was 40 weeks.   The doctor scheduled weekly appointments from this point forward. 

 

This might be a good time to recap.  Here are 10 things to remember:

 

1.  I have a job in Illinois that I need to start, soon.

2.  I have a wife who seems to be in (REALLY) early labor

3.  My wife has to stay in bed, in Michigan, under doctor’s orders.

4.  We have a four year old. 

5.  #3 and #4 don’t really work well, together.

6.  We have no insurance in Illinois.  Did I mention the early labor part?

7.  We have a house in Michigan – this is good and bad

8.  We don’t have a house in Illinois

9.  We were supposed to move in with my in-laws for short time.  Now I am moving in there by myself.

10.  I have stress.  Lots of stress.

 

Part III (the conclusion) coming soon.

One Response

  1. […] is part III.  Click for Part II.  Click for Part […]

Leave a Reply

