• QUOTE FOR TODAY

    "God is pursuing with omnipotent passion a worldwide purpose of gathering joyful worshipers for Himself from every tribe and tongue and people and nation…Therefore let us bring our affections into line with His, and, for the sake of His name, let us renounce the quest for worldly comforts and join His global purpose."
    -- John Piper

  • Mercy House

  • YouVersion Reading Plans
  • James 2:14-17

    What good is it, my brothers, if a man claims to have faith but has no deeds? Can such faith save him? Suppose a brother or sister is without clothes and daily food. If one of you says to him, "Go, I wish you well; keep warm and well fed," but does nothing about his physical needs, what good is it?

    In the same way, faith by itself, if it is not accompanied by action, is dead.

  • Blog Stats

    • 22,628 hits

Back again

After a wam, sunny, and somewhat chaotic vacation at Walt Disney World in Florida, I am back to the grind.  I’m not sure why it had to be so stinking cold when I got back, but I am here nonetheless.  As soon as I dig out from under the pile of papers that is currently my desk, I hope to dig back into blogging.  Currently I am reading through Why We’re Not Emergent by Kevin DeYoung and Ted Kluck.  I’m sure many of the posts to follow will focus on this whole emerging (apostate) church thing.  And, again, I am sure I will get a bunch of you all worked up into a tizzy, but that’s OK. 

In the mean time, I have a small story:

I got back from vacation and noticed that we had 6 messages on the machine.  (yes we still use a machine and no, I don’t have cable–so everyone quit asking).  Anyway, there on the machine was a voice from the past.  A high-school friend who got my number from the committee organizing our 20 year reunion.  I called him yesterday and we had a great talk.  It struck me after our talk that you never know what God has planned for you.  If you think you do, you’re kidding yourself.  It also struck me that I probably didn’t do my part to maintain our friendship.  I guess “life” got in the way.  More importantly though, when those times come that God sends someone unexpected across your path, you need to ask yourself why.  I am asking why.  As you all know, I don’t believe God “does” coincidences.  So, Scott, I am glad you called.  Thanks for reaching out.  I wonder what the plan is. 

Leave a Reply

