• QUOTE FOR TODAY

    "God is pursuing with omnipotent passion a worldwide purpose of gathering joyful worshipers for Himself from every tribe and tongue and people and nation…Therefore let us bring our affections into line with His, and, for the sake of His name, let us renounce the quest for worldly comforts and join His global purpose."
    -- John Piper

  • Mercy House

  • YouVersion Reading Plans
  • James 2:14-17

    What good is it, my brothers, if a man claims to have faith but has no deeds? Can such faith save him? Suppose a brother or sister is without clothes and daily food. If one of you says to him, "Go, I wish you well; keep warm and well fed," but does nothing about his physical needs, what good is it?

    In the same way, faith by itself, if it is not accompanied by action, is dead.

  • Blog Stats

    • 22,673 hits

In response to Haiti 20 TWENTY $20

Does anyone else feel helpless? 

I watch the news, read the stories, and see the pictures, and I feel overwhelmed and helpless.  Useless.  I’ve been angry with God because I don’t understand allowing this to happen, and I felt total despair as I hear about bulldozers pushing bodies into mass graves.

I marvel at stories like the one about the two sisters from Pittsburgh who were running an orphanage in Port-au-Prince and managed to drum up enough public (and political) support to bring more than 60 orphans back to the U.S. 

I am amazed at the response of organizations like Samaritan’s Purse and CARE as they feed and clothe and treat the hungry and naked and injured. 

Yet, through my amazement, I feel helpless and I need to get over it.  So, here’s what I’m going to do.  First I am going to pray.  Second, I am going to send a donation to Samaritan’s Purse.  I would encourage you to do the same thing.  I know time and money are short, but seriously, I am pretty sure we can all be praying for the people in Haiti, and we can all afford to put a few dollars toward the effort of providing food, clean water, and medical supplies. 

I trust Samaritan’s Purse, but if you know of another organization go with them.  Whatever you do, just give something. 

I’m calling my effort the 20 Twenty $20 challenge.  I am going to commit to pray for Haiti for at least 20 minutes every day for the next Twenty days and send $20.00 right now to be used to help with the relief in Haiti.    If you would like to join me, just leave a comment here (or send me an email: nogray.37@gmail.com ) so we can support each other.  If you need to modify your number to fit your circumstances, please do…but please do something. 

Here’s a link to Samaritan’s Purse 

One Response

  1. […] orphans by Jeff Several of you have emailed to tell me that you are jumping on board with the 20 Twenty $20 challenge.  Thanks to those of you who responded. (To those who are still thinking about it, there’s […]

Leave a Reply

