• QUOTE FOR TODAY

    "God is pursuing with omnipotent passion a worldwide purpose of gathering joyful worshipers for Himself from every tribe and tongue and people and nation…Therefore let us bring our affections into line with His, and, for the sake of His name, let us renounce the quest for worldly comforts and join His global purpose."
    -- John Piper

  • Mercy House

  • YouVersion Reading Plans
  • James 2:14-17

    What good is it, my brothers, if a man claims to have faith but has no deeds? Can such faith save him? Suppose a brother or sister is without clothes and daily food. If one of you says to him, "Go, I wish you well; keep warm and well fed," but does nothing about his physical needs, what good is it?

    In the same way, faith by itself, if it is not accompanied by action, is dead.

  • Blog Stats

    • 22,628 hits

Forgotten God

I finished Francis Chan’s Crazy Love for the second time and have just started reading his newest book: Forgotten God – Reversing our tragic neglect of the Holy Spirit.  As I read and work my way through the book, I am going to blog about whatever hits me a the time.   Before I begin, I would like to take a second to recommend Crazy Love.  I read it twice over the course of two months or so.  I will probably read it again.  Forgotten God stands on it’s own, but you would do well to read Crazy Love first.

From Forgotten God:

There is a need for those of us nestled deep within the Christian bubble to look beyond the status quo and critically assess the degree to which we are really living biblically  page 29

Chan goes on to say:

One of the areas we desperately need to examine is how we think about and relate to the Holy Spirit. page 30

I admit, that I’m not sure I have been (or am being) all that sensitive to what God really wants for me, because I’m not all that convinced I’ve been hearing from Him. Yes, I believe I have been neglecting the Holy Spirit.  If you take a second and ponder the “what if’s”, it will be mind blowing.  For example:

What if God is calling you to adopt an orphan from Haiti and you reject the idea because you think it will cost too much, or be too much, or whatever.  Have you thought about what happens to that orphan?  Have you considered all of the potential consequences of not acting?Your rejection of God’s calling goes well beyond you.

What if God has it planned for you to go to Haiti in a few months and help the rebuilding efforts following the earthquake, but you reject the calling?  Someone there may not get adequate shelter…worse, they may not ever experience God’s love simply because you stayed home where it was safe.

What if you are supposed to share Jesus with a neighbor or friend or co-worker but assume that ‘someone else will do it’?  Have you considered that the neighbor or friend or co-worker might end up in Hell because you assumed incorrectly?  Think about that for a second!

These are the things that are kind of running me over as I begin this book.   I don’t like what if’s!  I will leave you with this quote from page 22:

There’s more of the Spirit and more of God that any of us is experiencing.  I want to go there–not just intellectually, but in life, with everything I am

Leave a Reply

