• QUOTE FOR TODAY

    "God is pursuing with omnipotent passion a worldwide purpose of gathering joyful worshipers for Himself from every tribe and tongue and people and nation…Therefore let us bring our affections into line with His, and, for the sake of His name, let us renounce the quest for worldly comforts and join His global purpose."
    -- John Piper

  • Mercy House

  • YouVersion Reading Plans
  • James 2:14-17

    What good is it, my brothers, if a man claims to have faith but has no deeds? Can such faith save him? Suppose a brother or sister is without clothes and daily food. If one of you says to him, "Go, I wish you well; keep warm and well fed," but does nothing about his physical needs, what good is it?

    In the same way, faith by itself, if it is not accompanied by action, is dead.

  • Blog Stats

    • 22,673 hits

Orphans and Cars and the Holy Spirit

There is a bunch of randomness running around in my head.  I am feeling an odd, yet overwhelming conviction about orphans.  Between reading Katie’s Blogs (wait ’til you read her entry from January 22, 2010), hearing about all of the need in Haiti, and meandering around at 147Million and Oatsville, I feel like I am supposed to be doing more.  I don’t know what that “more” is, but I am hoping it becomes clear to me real soon.

Jacob has it in his head that he wants to build a ‘kit-car’ (Thank you, Grandpa, for showing him the DVD that has turned his brain to mush over the idea of building that car).  It seems he can think of nothing else.  He pours over the literature and watches the DVD every chance he gets.  He talks about it constantly and has the math worked out to the penny as to how many lawns he would have to mow and how many driveways he would have to shovel before he had enough money to buy the kit.  It would seem that the goal is to purchase it in enough time to build it by the time he can drive it.  I am hoping that they raise the driving age to 18 in Illinois real soon. 

While I haven’t really signed on to the idea, I certainly admire his zeal and enthusiasm.  It got me to thinking this morning that we don’t seem to pursue much of anything with that enthusiasm…especially not the life that God is offering.  Well, maybe you are, but it’s not happening in my camp right now.   This bothers me, but I don’t know what to do about it.  (For the record, trying harder doesn’t work.)

Keep in mind that much of what’s going on inmy thought process comes about from reading Forgotten God-Reversing our Tragic Neglect of the Holy Spirit.

This quote really hit me yesterday. 

For some reason, we don’t think we need the Holy Spirit.  We don’t expect the Holy Spirit to act.  Or if we do, our expectations are often misguided or self-serving.  Given our talent set, experience, and education, many of us are fairly cabable of living rather successfully(according to the world’s standards) without any strength from the Holy Spirit

So there I am…seemingly living rather successfully without any strength from the Holy Spirit.  Yet I think He’s working on me.  Trying to get in my head.   I think the truth is, I’m afraid to respond…afraid to surrender because I am afraid of the assignment or the project or whatever I am going to be told to do. 

Who’s in control?

 

One Response

  1. Interesting post here. I just finished reading Forgotten God by Francis Chan. I blogged all about it. Check out my latest post @ http://whatsnextgod.com

Leave a Reply

