• QUOTE FOR TODAY

    "God is pursuing with omnipotent passion a worldwide purpose of gathering joyful worshipers for Himself from every tribe and tongue and people and nation…Therefore let us bring our affections into line with His, and, for the sake of His name, let us renounce the quest for worldly comforts and join His global purpose."
    -- John Piper

  • Mercy House

  • YouVersion Reading Plans
  • James 2:14-17

    What good is it, my brothers, if a man claims to have faith but has no deeds? Can such faith save him? Suppose a brother or sister is without clothes and daily food. If one of you says to him, "Go, I wish you well; keep warm and well fed," but does nothing about his physical needs, what good is it?

    In the same way, faith by itself, if it is not accompanied by action, is dead.

  • Blog Stats

    • 22,673 hits

Focus on Worship…Creation

I caught an interview with Mike Massimino on Letterman last night.  Massimino is a NASA astronaut who  is featured in the  IMAX 3D movie on the Hubble Telescope.  He was one of several astronauts to complete the spacewalks that upgraded the Hubble Telescope.  In the interview, Dave asks him to describe what it was like to be in space and look back at Planet Earth for the first time.  Take a look at this clip

I was amazed when he said that when he first looked at the Earth he had to look away.  He said that the thought that went through his head was this “this was something I’m not supposed to look at…it’s a secret….people aren’t supposed to see this…..There are no words to describe this beauty”  He goes on to say, “The second time I looked I started to get a little emotional.”  And Finally he says of his third look at the Earth from space, “the thought went through my head that if you’re in Heaven, this is what you’d see…”

I don’t want to get into a discussion of what we are going to see from Heaven, but as I consider the song, Son of God from Starfield, and the opening lyric that says:

Son of God, Shaper of the stars, You alone the dweller of my heart.  Mighty King, how beautiful you are”

I know that when I enter His presence, I want to say, as Massimino did, “there are no words to describe this beauty.”

Leave a Reply

